A prayer for the overly busy…

Matthew 25: 34-40

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Heavenly Father 

The world passes by at high speed. People rushing headlong on a mission of madness..

Got to get somewhere

Placeholder ImageGot to buy something 

Got to see someone

Got to build a wall

Got to build a dream

Got to reach the top

Got to get out of here

Got to prove something 

Got to get revenge

Got to keep on keeping on 

Passers by, passing by at high speed 

Non stop, can’t stop, won’t stop 

To pray

How can we see those in need if we’re too busy rushing on?

How can we feed the hungry if we have no time to feed ourselves?

How will we find those at the bottom if we’re striving for the top?

How can we build bridges if we don’t understand what’s here and what’s there?

How can we build a future if we don’t recognise the here and now?

Lord, slow us down so we see with your eyes. 

Let us see the poor and down and outs with the compassion of your heart,

Let us welcome the refugees with the love you have shown to us,

Let us feed the hungry with the same nourishing food we afford for ourselves,

Let us be your eyes and ears, your arms and your shelter, your provision and your hope in a world full of pain and suffering.

Let us not pass by on the other side of the road 

Let us give generously, share willingly and help graciously wherever and whenever we can

In Jesus name we pray

Amen

Leave a Reply

